Spain (the Kingdom of Spain)

Spain, officially the Kingdom of Spain, is located in southwestern Europe on the Iberian Peninsula. This Spanish mainland is bordered to the south and east almost entirely by the Mediterranean Sea (except for a small land boundary with Gibraltar); to the north by France, Andorra, and the Bay of Biscay; and to the west by the Atlantic Ocean and Portugal. Additionally a small exclave inside France (Llívia), the Balearic Islands  (Mallorca, Menorca and Ibiza) in the Mediterranean Sea, the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean, and five places of sovereignty in northern Africa, are Spanish territory. There are five big mountain ranges across the country.

With an area of 505,990 km2, Spain is the world's fifty-first largest country and Europe's fourth largest country. With a population of 46 million people, Spain is the sixth largest in the European Union.

Madrid is the capital city of Spain. It has the third-largest GDP in the European Union.

Tab group